Author Topic: Hello Everyone  (Read 1804 times)

kartjockey

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hello Everyone
« on: January 21, 2012, 06:57:44 AM »
Hi all,
My name is Tom. Just to introduce myself a bit. I was an automotive machinist for 28 years. Throughout those years I got to see and restore a lot of old and unusual engines at the owners expense. Now that's fun! I love anything that's old and goes. I have a 1949 Chevy 3/4 ton truck that has been my daily driver for 25 years. Also have a 1951(for a back up). I feel best when I am surrounded with old iron and my house shows that. To name a few. My 1948 Simplex. 1966 Sears Sabre motor scooter. Late '60s Margay go kart. 1951 J.C. Higgins Colorflow bicycle. Wife rides a 1949 Schwinn Starlet. Several single cylinder vintage gas engines. And countless collections of oddities and fine pieces of junk! Later I will tell you about my Simplex and the story behind it. Big thanks to RickS for calling me in!

Mike Sal

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hello Everyone
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 07:12:22 AM »
Welcome Tom.  I'm also new to the group, but have yet to find a bike (had one when I was a kid).  Funny how most of us have similar interests.  I have 5 studebakers, a Model T, a Kaiser (I used to use them all for daily drivers) besides a few single cylinder engines (maytag, mcormick deering).  I also do blacksmithing, so there's always lots of odd iron stuff around the farm.

I've got a pre-war Hawthorn bicycle & a couple from the 50's which I was going to motorize (following a project shown in a 1936 Popular Science magazine), but if I can find another Simplex, I'll probably not destroy them.

What part of michigan are you in?  I used to spend a lot of time around detroit, on business (worked for a supplier to the big three). 
Mike Sal

kartjockey

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 07:19:24 AM »