Author Topic: New guy without a bike  (Read 2701 times)

Mike Sal

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
New guy without a bike
« on: December 21, 2011, 04:35:36 PM »
Hello all.  Thought I'd throw an introduction up.  I live in southern Illinois & am an engineer by trade.  My other hobbies are Studebakers ('50, '55, '56, '63, '66), a '54 kaiser Manhattan, a '26 Model T touring, & a '74 suzuki 186 street bike.  I also do blacksmithing, have my own machine shop (mill, lathe, most tools to be dangerous), & participate in ww2 reenactments (read I have no money now).

I had a simplex back when I was a kid, but when I went off to junior college, my dad gave it & my other toys away (I hated that).  I've always had a weakness for the smaller old bikes.  I went to the Lee Hartung auction last month & saw a Simplex there (missing a few parts & a big dent in the tank....I think it brought somewhere around $2200) & it reminded me that I'd like to have one again.  The last one I ever saw sell was about 15 years ago & it brought about 400, so I was quite surprised to see them selling for more than 2 grand.

So, I'm in the market for a bike.  Since I'm such a tight wad, maybe something that needs restored rather than one that's already done.  If any of you have any tips, let me know.
thanks,
Mike Sal

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: New guy without a bike
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 07:07:42 PM »
Keep an eye on craigslist and ebay.  Project bikes pop up from time to time.  As you have noted, they are not all that cheap anymore.  A mostly complete project runs around $1500, and beware, if you buy one without an engine, they are very hard to find.  I see many projects get sold on ebay without a motor in the $500-1000 range, but I don't think that is the way to go if you want an original style restoration.  If you want to put some other motor in one, than go ahead. 

Good luck and keep us posted!
Rick

Ricks