Author Topic: What is it worth???  (Read 663 times)

locolyn

• View Profile
What is it worth???
« on: January 16, 2023, 03:06:30 PM »
Hi, new to the site from central Iowa.
I'm looking at a 1949 Service cycle. It looks like it's all there just not put together. The engine is supposed to be original and has just been completely rebuilt professionally. Frame not rusted out or bent just needs cleaned up and painted. Wheels look to be in good shape, tires junk. My big question is what is this thing worth in this conditon??? I'm new to servi cycle and don't want to over pay. Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: January 16, 2023, 03:08:13 PM by locolyn »

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: What is it worth???
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2023, 04:47:23 PM »
Post some pictures so we can see exactly what you have.  If the motor was professionally rebuilt, by whom?
Rick

pd

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2023, 05:19:20 AM »
Welcome locolyn . :)

How much are the sellers asking ?

Pete . :)
Goes around , Comes around . :)

locolyn

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2023, 11:28:59 AM »
Hope pics show correctly. Seller asking $2200. Don’t know who rebuilt engine. Owner passed away and had a collection of Cushman and Whizzer’s that look in pretty good condition.

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2023, 03:23:46 PM »
Nice looking bike! What are the numbers on the motor?  By any chance is there a number on the frame? If there is, it will be on a plate, under the neck.  Looks like the motor has a late model Phelon ignition, which didn’t start until 1956. Post a picture of the front of the magneto.  That is probably worth around $2000 as it sits.
Rick

Scooter4

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2023, 04:26:17 PM »
Good evening,