Author Topic: Info and year of bike  (Read 4632 times)

mcdave

Info and year of bike
« on: July 05, 2012, 08:43:17 AM »
Hello.
I am a newbie to the forum and still trying to figure out how to do things so please bear with me. Have a Simplex automatic frame number 16359  no motor and plenty of missing parts.I will add some photos soon as I figure out how. Downloaded a parts manual from kartjockey appreciated that thanks. Alot of good information here.
Thanks
Dave
 Tried to resize these photos hope it it better.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 06:44:41 AM by mcdave »

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Info and year of bike
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2012, 12:04:42 PM »
Welcome Dave.  Looks like a good start.  Finding an engine may take a while, as they rarely come up for sale, and when the do, they are not cheap.  Do you have the front wheel and fenders?

Going by the frame number, it is either a very late 1958 or very early 1959 model.

Where do you live?
Rick

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2012, 02:12:28 PM »
Are you going to Portland next week.  The Vintage Motorbike Meet is awesome. And so close for you!
Rick

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2012, 05:16:26 PM »
Don't know anything about the show or Portland? First time on forum and will have to google for some more info. Thanks for the heads up Ricks>

Here you go.  Largest small bike meet in the world.

http://www.vintagemotorbike.org/
Rick

Mike Sal

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 07:07:59 AM »
Dave, what does the small print on your gas tank say?  I can make out what appears to be "tubing" at the end.  Also send me a note with your info so I can update the registry (what state are you from, what's your last name, what are your plans for the bike, etc).