Author Topic: No combustion Help  (Read 1340 times)

Burntsteel

• View Profile
    • Email
No combustion Help
« on: April 13, 2020, 10:59:04 AM »
Ok guys, Im a newbie to this but I inherited my grandfathers bike that is all original and is one owner(grandfather).  My dad has over the years tried to work and ride this bike but without questioning my father I have decided to start fresh.

Not sure of the year bike I have, I think it is an "M" model.  Serial Number M22118B  stamped below the crank cover.

Anyway:
i set new points at .013 gap. 
I have a J17L spark plug which is currently gapped at .020
I am getting good spark but I can't seem to fire off starter fluid or gas/oil mix, Compression is good what am I doing wrong

My questions are :
What is the correct spark plug number
with running only one plug what are your recommended gaps on both points and plug

I am using 6volt coil from dennis carpenter for WICO

Any help would be appreciated.

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: No combustion Help
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2020, 11:43:10 AM »
Points are too tight, should be gapped at .020.  This is printed inside on the magneto backing plate.

I tried looking up a J17L plug, but could not find any specs on it, but if it is a champion, 17 heat range is really hot.  I have used Champion J8C with success.

My preferred spark plug is Autolite 295.

Did you take a compression test?  You should have at least 70 lbs of compression.
Rick

Burntsteel

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2020, 12:32:40 PM »
Thank you Rick,  I originally had them set at .020 but wasn't getting any fire. so I backed them down, just dawned on me I also changed the non-working condensor and that is when I started getting fire.
So in response,

Re-gap my points to .020
change to a J8C plug or Autolite 295 and gap at........? .035?