Author Topic: newbie question  (Read 4148 times)

mneukirch

• View Profile
    • Email
newbie question
« on: May 04, 2012, 03:19:11 PM »
yea i was not sure where to place this so feel free to move it if i placed this wrong .

Hi im Max im a newbie when it comes to the Simplex iroinicly ive had a Servi-cycle in my crawlspace under my house for longer then ive been born and that means its been there for over 25 years.
i think its a 53 Automatic. in which im interested in restoring along to go with my project truck. anyway. even tho its completely dis assembled. i have noticed 2 things . does anyone on here know where to get a rear wheel belt pully for as mine is rather rusted out and oviously i cant do much with it being in that shape. also one of my foot rests are there but are rusted to the point of having holes, also i do not see a mount for the kick start was there a version without it any idea ?
what is locked must be Unlocked !

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: newbie question
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 03:42:03 PM »
Welcome Max!  Wayne Mahaffey has most of the parts to restore a servi-cycle.  His contact info is listed under the parts suppliers.

Post some pictures so we can see what you have to work with.  What are the engine and frame numbers?
Rick

mneukirch

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2012, 04:16:17 PM »
trust me the pictures are limited because literally every single piece is apart. and its in a very confined space. i was told by my father that he once had 2 engines for it so i dont know what is original to the bike
i was only able to find the engine number on the 1 engine i was able to find . which was. # M22545B
i did see on your site where to find the frame # but was unable to find anything .

Ricks

• Administrator
  • 1953 Automatic
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2012, 04:47:09 PM »
What you have there is a mix of parts!